new music wells





The new music wells festival takes place in May or June each year.

Founded in 2008 by Matthew Owens, Organist & Master of the Choristers, this innovative festival is a retrospective of sacred choral and organ music of the previous forty years during all services, together with world premiere performances by Wells Cathedral Choir and Organists of music by internationally renowned composers, and composition students from Wells Cathedral School. There are also concerts and a public masterclass with the featured composer of the year. The festival is very fortunate to have Judith Bingham as its President.

new music wells 2015 will take place in October 2015 and our featured composer will be Judith Weir CBE, Master of The Queen’s Music.  More details to come.

Composers whose new work has been premiered at new music wells festivals include:

new music wells 68-08

Richard Allain, David Bednall, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies CBE, Robin Walker, Paul Zaba

new music wells 69-09

Jonathan Dove, Gabriel Jackson, James MacMillan CBE, Iain Quinn (USA)

new music wells 70-10

Judith Bingham, Gary Davison (USA), Timothy Noon, Jeremy Woodside (New Zealand)

new music wells 71-11

Elizabeth Edwards, Howard Skempton, and Philip Wilby

new music wells 72-12

Jonathan Dove, Philip Moore, Owain Park, and Howard Skempton

new music wells 73-13

John Joubert, Howard Skempton and composition students from Wells Cathedral School

new music wells 74-14

Sir John Tavener