Closures and Restrictions

Restricted Access

The Cathedral Nave without seating

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may also need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event, filming or general maintenance.

We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people may travel long distances to visit us.  As soon as we know about a closure it will be posted below.   Please remember to check this page for any last minute changes prior to your visit as some events may have to be arranged at short notice.

Saturday 29 April 2017, 11.00am – Millfield School Confirmation Service

Monday 1 May 2017 - Wells May Fair (Market Place)

Thursday 4 May 2017, 11.00am – Funeral

Sunday 7 May 2017, 9.45am – Cathedral Confirmation Service

Sunday 14 May 2017 – Mendip Vintage and Classic Cars on Cathedral Green. Note closure of St Andrew’s Street

Friday 19 May 2017, 3pm – Memorial Service

Saturday 20 May 2017, 3.00pm – Installation of the Archdeacon of Wells at Evensong (Cathedral Nave)

Wednesday 24 May 2017, 1.25-3.00pm – BBC Recording (rehearsal)

Wednesday 24 May 2017, 3.30pm – BBC Recording Evensong

Wednesday 14 – Friday 16 June 2017 – Year 6 Pilgrim Days (various parts of the Cathedral)

Saturday 17 June 2017, from 2.00pm - Somerset Schools Dance Festival on Cathedral Green

Monday 19 – Wednesday 21 June 2017 - Year 6 Pilgrim Days (various parts of the Cathedral)