new music wells

new music wells

forty years of music: a celebration

Founded in 2008, this innovative festival is a retrospective of sacred choral and organ music of the previous forty years during all services, together with world premiere performances by Wells Cathedral Choir and organists of music by internationally renowned composers, local composers, and composition students from Wells Cathedral School. There are also concerts and a public masterclass with the featured composer of the year. The festival’s President is British composer, Judith Bingham, following on from the late Jonathan Harvey.

In October 2020,  new music wells 79-19 will take place from Friday 9 – Sunday 11 October

Past Festivals

In previous years, Wells Cathedral Choir has premiered works by the following composers during the new music wells festival:

new music wells 68-08

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies CBE, Richard Allain, David Bednall, Robin Walker, Paul Zaba (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 69-09

Jonathan Dove, Gabriel Jackson, Sir James MacMillan CBE, Iain Quinn (USA)

new music wells 70-10

Judith Bingham, Gary Davison (USA), Timothy Noon, Jeremy Woodside (New Zealand)

new music wells 71-11

Howard Skempton, Philip Wilby, and Elizabeth Edwards (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 72-12

Jonathan Dove, Philip Moore, Howard Skempton, and Owain Park (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 73-13

John Joubert (two works), Howard Skempton (organ solo), and Jack May (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 74-14

Sir John Tavener, Brian Chapple, Ronald Corp, and Adam Hickox (Wells Cathedral School, organ solo)

 new music wells 75-15

Michael Berkeley CBE, William Drakett, and Robin Walker

new music wells 76-16

Judith Weir CBE (Master of the Queen’s Music), Stuart Beer, William Drakett, Matthew Owens, and Thomas Carling

new music wells 77-17

Howard Skempton, Francis Jackson, Judith Bingham, Philip Wilby, and Rebecca Farthing (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 78-18

Michael Berkeley CBE, Diana Burrell, Kerensa Briggs, William Drakett, Rebecca Farthing (Wells Cathedral School), and Thomas Nettle (Wells Cathedral School)

new music wells 79-19

Jonathan Dove CBE, Judith Bingham, Owain Park, Wells Cathedral School students

For information about how you can support the commissioning of new music for the festival, click here.

Listen to our Music