Closures and Restrictions

Restricted Access

The Cathedral Nave without seating

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may also need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event, filming or general maintenance.

We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people may travel long distances to visit us.  As soon as we know about a closure it will be posted below.   Please remember to check this page for any last minute changes prior to your visit as some events may have to be arranged at short notice.

Wells Cathedral is a working church and during Advent and Christmas there will be many large services taking place. The list below is not exhaustive so please check the What’s On page for services and events before planning your trip.

The location of the service will be closed to visitors for the duration of the service but you are more than welcome to sit in the congregation. Please note that for the majority of the large services and concerts there will be rehearsals and setting up prior to the event so the Cathedral will be a busy but happy place to visit!

Monday 24 December, 2-2.30pm AND 3.15-3.45pm – Crib Service in the nave

Scheduled organ tuning dates:

Tuesday 8 January

Wednesday 30 January

Monday 11 February

Tuesday 26 February

Tuesday 9 April

Friday 3 May

Friday 7 June

Friday 5 July

Wednesday 7 August

Thursday 5 September

Tuesday 8 October

Wednesday 13 November

Thursday 19 December

Please note that organ tuning takes place from 10.45am to 4.00pm and will be un-tuneful and noisy! Dates are subject to change but we will update this list throughout the year.

Saturday 12 January 2019 at 12.30pmwedding service in the Quire. This area will be closed to visitors for the duration of the service

Saturday 26 January 2019, 10am to 4pm – Wake Up Wells community day taking place in all parts of the Cathedral

Friday 22 February 2019, 11am to 1pm – day event for High Sheriff Concert taking place in the cloisters and nave with Gala Concert from 7.30pm