Filming and Photography

Filming and Photography


Wells Cathedral is a unique and stunning location for film-makers and photographers, appearing in television dramas, documentaries and even Hollywood films. The Chained Library, historic Vicars’ Close, Cathedral Nave and impressive Chapter House and its steps prove to be particularly popular film locations. See below for more details about our locations.

If you are interested in using Wells Cathedral or its precincts as a venue for  filming or photography, please contact Matthew Minter, the Events Co-ordinator, using events@wellscathedral.uk.net or telephone 01749 832212.

The Spanish Princess | Official Trailer

Filmed in Wells Cathedral. This trailer shows parts of the West Front, the Nave and the Lady Chapel.

Venues available

Cloisters

The three cloisters, built in the 13th century and remodelled in the 15th join the Cathedral on the south side and surround a rectangular green.

Vicars’ Close

Completed by 1363 and built to house the men of the choir it is the oldest continuously inhabited street for the same purpose in Europe.

Quire

The western end of the Quire forms the oldest part of the present cathedral. Under some stalls are elaborate carved misericords.

Nave

Wells is the first Cathedral in England to be, from its foundation, built in the Gothic style.

 

Chapter House steps

The view of the Chapter House steps is among the most photographed area of any Cathedral and the building itself. The Chapter House was finished by 1306 and was the meeting place for Cathedral affairs.

 

 

Chained Library

 

Jesse Window

The Cathedral boasts some of the finest medieval stained glass to be found in England which miraculously survived the Reformation and the Civil War. The ‘Jesse’ window dates back to 1340 and, thanks to its height, avoided the stones of the mob.

Vicars’ Hall

Vicars Hall dates from 1348, the time of the Black Death. The adjoining Treasury Block is a series of rooms with fascinating fittings. Bishop Bekynton commissioned the Chain Bridge with gate beneath, built by 1460.

Palm Churchyard

View of the Library over the East Cloister.

Listen to our Music